Our Chapter History

Tricia Johnson, President, 1999-2001

  • July, 1999:  120 patronesses agreed to join the new Poway Chapter
  • Fall, 2000:  First Tea and Fashion Show chaired by Sharon May
  • January, 2001:  Charter Chapter status approved by National for Poway Chapter
  • Spring, 2001:  First Senior Presentation chaired by Faye Minton

Dee Dee Hill, President, 2001-2002

  • 2002:  A Year of Milestones and a Year of Loss
    • Gayle Kennedy, slated to assume her presidency of our chapter in June, passed away suddenly of ovarian cancer in the spring
    • Denise Zogby, slated to become president elect, rallied to take over the presidency in Gayle’s place
    • The Gayle Kennedy Memorial Scholarship Fund is established at the request of the Kennedy family
    • Official non-profit status granted to Poway Chapter, NCL
    • Fundraising possibilities were researched
    • Holiday Home Tour approved as the first public fundraising event

Denise Zogby, President, 2002-2003

  • First Holiday Home Tour chaired by Patty Elkus and Sharon May raises more than  $10,000 which is given to local charities, including the Gayle Kennedy Memorial Scholarhip Fund
  • GKMSF Awards $1,000 scholarships to PHS and RBHS grads
  • Chapter Web is established for Poway Chapter, begins use in May, 2003

Cheri Kuptz, President, 2003-2004

  • Philamena Bear Award is established
  • Holiday Home Tour raises more than $15, 000

Patty Elkus, President, 2004-2005

  • Holiday Home Tour raises more than $25, 000
  • San Diego Board of Supervisors, inspired by our chapter’s contribution, donates a matching grant to the Poway library, creating a total donation of  $19, 000 to the library alone
  • The Faye Minton Award is established